Brittle but resilient

Wretched Days

withered leaves
rattle wordless
brittle
fluttering flags
of bereavement


To feel is to be human, but these wretched days of mourning are filled with way too much. Hopefully these feelings of despair are powerful enough to move us to action. There are folks scrambling to buy firearms as the rest of us grapple with how to rid them from our nation. Gun control, access to proper mental health care, grappling with our culture of fear, the voices gain strength. May they grow stronger.

For the Record,
This day came in overcast, but dry. I've managed to post most of our Christmas cards and we have pretty much all of our holiday shopping under control. T has her department party this afternoon and my painting group will celebrate on Friday.

G is being interviewed today on the cable radio station. He'll begin his own interviews soon. I'm going to listen in online. We'll hear all about it tonight at our Wednesday Candlelight Dinner.

I'm excited today, pouring over the camera manual for my Christmas prize, a Leica X2 . It arrived yesterday and of course I could not wait until Christmas morning to unbox it and charge the battery. The box alone is gorgeous. I've taken a few shots. After the holidays, and after I get more external drives to free up some photo storage space on the iMac, I'll take the jump from jpeg to raw processing. I hope I am worthy of this little rectangle of precision. Having a German Leica has been a dream of mine. I will never have one of their M rangefinder professional models, but this lovely instrument means the world to me. It's a perfect size to carry anywhere and has the sensor to rival a bigger DSLR. I have photographic tools for everything a casual but dedicated photo snapper could ever wish for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.