The Ladies Rock

The Ladies Rock is a small outcrop in the Old Town Cemetery where ladies of the royal court are reputed to have watched tournaments and other such entertainment, before the cemetery was there of course. It nestles below Stirling Castle and gives a great view to the west. I've included an extra of the view - not that it's a wonderful photograph as the camera was on full zoom and I've had to crop but to show there's still a bit of snow on Ben Ledi.

I've blipped this cemetery, which as well as being a regular place of rest for Stirling citizens was designed to be educational and proselyting about Presbyterianism, before. There are some curious monuments as well as more ordinary gravestones. The daffodils are still colourful but starting to fade now. Next to the seat on the rock is an information/interpretation plaque with details of the 360 degree view.

I had to change my plans for this morning which had involved driving into Glasgow. A sleepless night put paid to that idea. It feels both silly and irresponsible to drive when sleep deprived. I didn't have to do it so I didn't. Disappointing though.

Flora made a start at 06:30, when of course I was slumbering happily, so I decided to make the most of the beautiful morning and take her and Otter out early. Yesterday I went into the vet to plead to be allowed to take Flora on longer walks. Still on her lead of course. After a quick look at Flora - and having watched her leap 2 feet in the air - the vet agreed that she had probably recovered sufficiently to be allowed more substantial exercise. So off we went this morning up to the castle environs. The sheltered bits were very pleasant but in the wind it still feels quite cool.

The walk seems to have taken the sting out of the dogs' energy so I can sit at peace for a wee while with caffeine to keep me going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.