Snow Day!

The warm sunny day yesterday in Denver turned into cold and wet today with snow predicted by mid afternoon. It was expected to be a significant storm with very strong winds, and already in the morning the airlines started cancelling flights leaving and arriving anytime after 330pm. I found out late morning that our flight back to London this evening was already cancelled. I had run an errand early this morning which took me out to the suburbs and I was on a bus back to the city when I got the news. I was a bit surprised because I thought they’d still operate a FEW flights giving priority to an International departure, but I was wrong!

There was nothing I could do about it! So when I got to the hotel I took advantage of the fact that we were staying another day and took a nap. That felt good! Since I’d been awake since about 3am! It’s funny how I can never sleep before pickup, but today, knowing I wasn’t actually going to work tonight, I was able to sleep.

Once rested I went back outside and by this time the snow was settling and it WAS very windy and bitterly cold. WHY don’t I pack a hat that always stays in my suitcase!? I tried to find one, but the stores were already filled with summer clothes and beach wear. I had dinner, but this time I sat inside!

It was nice to see some snow. Maybe not as much as people were expecting, but it doesn’t take much to cause havoc at the airport especially with high winds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.