The Market

Typical of a Denver snowstorm, it was all over by this morning, although it remained cold. I spent the morning in my hotel room catching up with some paperwork and by the time I went out at lunchtime there was still snow in places but the sun was shining.

I walked down to Larimer Square, an historic area of the city with some interesting eateries for all budgets, as well as some independent boutiques. I wasn’t interested in shopping, however, and made a beeline for The Market. This New York-style Deli has been a favourite of mine since I lived here in the 80s and I love how it’s hardly changed in all that time. I can still get my favourite items, and my VERY favourite - the cheese blintzes with sour cream and jam, are still displayed in the very same corner of the glass cabinet. They were serving espresso based coffees way before anyone outside of Seattle had heard of Starbucks.

Check out this review of The Market.

I ordered a hot sandwich, the blintzes for dessert along with a coffee, and enjoyed being back in what felt like ‘home’. I didn’t have long though, because I had to hurry back to the hotel to get ready for the airport. Because our flight cancelled yesterday we were heading back to London as passengers. Unfortunately the flight was full, full, FULL, so no Business Class seat for us today, but we were lucky to get aisle seats in Economy-Plus! It was good to be going home, though, even though I enjoyed my extra day in Denver. I’ll be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.