Oranges and Lemons

Some creature is still meticulously peeling half a lemon and leaving  most of the peelings and the untouched lemon under the tree. Yesterday I scrambled around under there and tried to clean out all the lemons that had fallen on the ground. this is easier said than done since the tree is planted in an inside corner of the house and most of the branches come right down to the ground. And Lemon trees are thorny! I must get out there and prune off the bottom branches. 

OilMan is so obsessed with his tomato plants that he can't seem to think about anything else. I honestly don't know what it is that is taking so much time, but I know it involves, among other things,  amending the soil in the veggie boxes where they will eventually be planted. He has been out wandering around in the middle of the night for two nights in a row now...once when he forgot to take the plants in from their sunbath and once when he remembered that he turned on the irrigation and forgot to turn it off. I've heard of golf widows, but I've never heard of a tomato widow...until now....

Our dining table will be busy for a few (too few) days when our friends come from Boulder for a visit. We visited them when we did our Amtrak experiment to Denver (two days each way on the train in a very tiny sleeping compartment) but they have elected to fly straight to Santa Rosa from Denver...a new flight to our little  airport that was just initiated a couple of months ago.

I got a text from Tim yesterday in his usual laconic style: "I found a dead body in the woods today." 

He had to lead the local police to the spot where he found it. "Now half the Pinole police force has poison oak. Cops hate to hike. I had to lead them to the body. I felt like Sacagawea guiding them through the wilderness. Common perception was...why the heck were you out here? They didn't seem to appreciate the setting."

I don't know if Tim will be going back there anytime soon. He thinks it was a transient who probably 'got wasted' and died of hypothermia. Midsomer Murders in Pinole, California...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.