Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Tulips in my garden

I had some admin things to attend to this morning and then I went and did another large grocery shop, including buying a large leg of lamb for the Easter weekend as Waitrose has them on special at the moment. 

It is sunny and bright today but rather windy and cool - looking forward to the 'promised' 25C on Saturday. 

These tulips are in my garden, in a bed close to the house so they have not been eaten by deer or squirrels. I like the almost black one, it's quite unusual. Next season I will copy what they do at RHS Wisley, which is to plant the bulbs under the turf so they appear through the lawn and the squirrels cannot get at them/ We have a small patch of grass around the side of the house that has sunk a bit and collects rain water so it needs more soil to level it and then a few squares of turf are needed to lay on top - perfect for this new plan about the bulbs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.