Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

My Friend

It was another bonus day today - so called by me because I was supposed to come back from Denver today but I didn’t get to fly the trip because of my PREVIOUS trip was delayed a day by last week’s snowstorm in Denver. So I’ve had the weekend at home and still got paid for the trip! Sounds like a bonus to me from every angle!

Today was Palm Sunday and I was glad to be able to make it to church when I thought I wouldn’t be able to. I’m away with my sister’s family for Easter weekend so I won’t be able to take part in most of our Easter services. I saw a friend at church and we decided to do an impromptu brunch afterwards, visiting a new cafe for the first time called Strawberry Grove. Our breakfasts were delicious and I am eager to go back soon and try something from their vast array of home-made cakes.

It was a cold breezy day and I felt too lazy for walking this afternoon but I pushed myself out the door finally and got to the lake just in time for a lovely sunset. I think I missed the best of it, but I still saw this lovely pink sky!

My friend the swan was way over on the other side of the lake but he made a beeline for me to say hello. He often does this even though I never feed him. And he’s never aggressive with me as swans can often be. He hung around for a few minutes, found some food at the bottom of the lake and then went on his way. I think there are only two swans on this lake. I’ve seen their new nest so I assume the other one is protecting some eggs which is why I never see them both at the same time these days. I do hope I’ll see the whole family sometime soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.