The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Spring woodlands

Wow, what a day! I woke at the house sit and after breakfasting on the balcony (yes, there is one but it overlooks the road) I cleared up and said my goodbyes. Steve came to pick me up
and we went to Minchinhampton common so he could look for skylarks. It was by now a warm, sunnyl day and we could hear the birds, though I did not see any.

Later, I caught the bus from Stroud to Gloucester, a scenic route along country roads. This shot shows Randwick woods, just glimpsed in passing. My bus arrived at Gloucester's newish bus station, which certainly lacks charisma. A quick walk took me to the Guildhall arts centre and cinema to see the film Aftermath.

Goodness, where do I begin with that film? The images of German cities in ruins after the allied bombings, with Germans still searching through the rubble for the remains of their family members, will be with me for a long time. The message of the film, which I can reveal without spoiling the plot, is that war damages everyone: there are heavy losses and casualties on both sides, as well as the emotional impact of incidents that are not talked about at the time, but left to fester and ultimately to damage relationships. No one is unaffected.

In short It was a good film, beautifully shot. It's one that deserves to be seen, though it'll never make it to the major chains. Too much sex and violence, too thought- provoking.

Back in Stroud, I embarked on a long walk up Rodborough hill and down the other side, to pick up some greetings cards I'm borrowing for Saturday's market. I took the country route home over Rodborough fields, stopping to admire the river Frome and the peace of Capel's Mill. Into Waitrose, up the hill, and finally home again! I was knackered.

Steve cooked supper, while I tidied up after yesterday's card sale, and tried to get sorted for Saturday. I've created more space in our dining room, too. Always a plus, as tomorrow we have visitors. I have to go back to Gloucester tomorrow for my three-yearly mammogram. Not looking forward to that experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.