The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Jigsaw and opera

This week's jigsaw is A Stitch in Time, which shows several socially distanced figures self-isolating in beautiful bowers. I will blip the completed picture when it's done.

The expected rain did come today, and I spent a great part of the day indoors doing the jigsaw and attempting to stream an Rossini opera, Comte Ory, from the Metropolitan Opera House. I did succeed, despite a few setbacks along the way, and enjoyed the wit, the fabulous costumes, and of course the music.

I also finished listening to the Frédérica quartet by AS Byatt, (30 episodes). I might look on Audible and see if I can find the Cazalet chronicles (a quintet of books by Elizabeth Jane Howard, starting with The Light Years) in my library. They'd be good for another listen, especially in lockdown.

Towards evening I rustled up an oven baked mushroom risotto, and a free-form GF rhubarb and orange tart, both recipes from Hugh F-W. I rarely use the oven these days unless I can cook two things at once. One thing this lockdown has taught me is how to use the different settings on the microwave! Some friends passed by at a great distance, and stopped to say hi as they approached our house. They don't go out at all, really.

Tomorrow I shall go to town, to do some shopping. After the weekly pub quiz, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.