Yup...

NO doubt about it, Arium Italicum is, beyond doubt, a foliage plant; there being little in the way of a flower. That said my favourite Guru tells me that in its natural state the leaves "go" in the heat of summer, flowers appearing later.
Methinks I/it have/has yet to experience a summer hot enough to do the trick.
I only had a choice of 2 today, but was simultaneously reminded of a couple of Gardeners/old Folk's superstitions:-
1. Irrespective of when Easter occurs, Spuds are planted on Good Friday.
This "season" I did a test run; on the grounds that, If you leave spuds in by accident, they don't die, they come up as "volunteers" when the weather suits them, so I bunged them in yonks ago and the 1st one is showing now.
2. Thou shalt NOT drive in any nails on Good Friday. As it happens, I remembered that one while I was driving in the odd nail or six this p.m.
Saved by coincidence.
* ~ * ~ *
A wondrous thing t'Internet. I return with a recent gleaning:-

"Culinary

The root of the cuckoo-pint, when roasted well, is edible and when ground was once traded under the name of Portland sago. It was used like salep (orchid flour) to make saloop — a drink popular before the introduction of tea or coffee. It was also used as a substitute for arrowroot.

If prepared incorrectly, it can be highly toxic, so should be prepared with due diligence and caution."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.