holiday traditions

Every year since 2005, Steven and I have decorated our Christmas Tree with the handmade stars friends and family brought or sent to our wedding. We sent the stars with our announcement/invitations and requested everyone decorate or write words of wisdom or advice -then hung them at our wedding reception. It gives me such a great feeling of joy to take them out every year, look at them, read the messages again and hang them up on our tree. I am especially fond of the one my dad made for us that says: happy sailing. It helps keep memories of him near : )

For my blip you can see a beautiful star decorated with beaded trim, by Heather Crossley who lives in Australia (when she is not traveling!). We recently hooked up again via Facebook and it has been great to chat and connect once more. Above her beauty is a funny star from my son Decklin, who was 20 23 years old (Dallas was 20!) when Steve & I married. His says: Steve - You may have found the perfect wife, but watch out for her kids - They're nothing but trouble!

View this a little larger if you like! Our tree is out on our lanai. We enjoy it out there and you can see it through the window when we are in the living room!

A star pictured here from rom my Aunt Jane & Uncle Bill reads: Two hearts, like stars, can beat forever - lenna & steven, June 11, 2005. My Aunt Jane passed away not too long afterwards. I enjoy this tradition we started quite by a lark the first year. I am not really big on the holiday at this time in my life, but I do enjoy this!

happiest of holidays to all my blip friends! xo lenna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.