Glass Beach

We stopped at Glass Beach on our way further north today. The sea glass is beautiful and  well worn......but it is for looking, not collecting! This Blip photo is a small portion of the beach. Thanks to Piettrass of Blip I found this beach......and also an entry into Abstract Thursday!
The North shore of Kauai is steep and can only be seen by sea or air. We went on a large catamaran out of Waimea this afternoon. The mountains in the extra photos are taller than a 80 story building; they were formed by lava flow many many years ago. The second extra is a different area formed differently by an eruption.

The seas were rough ....very rough.....until we got around the tip of the island.....then it was just a little choppy.....so a very enjoyable ride to see the huge cliffs. We also saw spinning dolphins, turtles, monk seals, caves and tunnels. The bird in extra followed the boat for awhile....just begging to have his photo taken. We had a very enjoyable time .....oh yeah, they stopped and we were able to snorkel in a relatively calm area. That made me very happy. I still feel like I am on a boat....I am sure I will have my "land legs" by tomorrow. I am so tired, so I am off to bed. Good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.