GOOD FRIDAY

What has Thomas the Tank Engine got to do with Good Friday?

Absolutely Nothing!

What has Thomas the Tank Engine got to do with making an inspirational journey?

Absolutely Everything!

When I was thinking about the journey that Jesus made on this day many years ago, I thought of a very dear friend who has also been on a journey.  She was diagnosed with breast cancer almost two years ago and when she told me it was going to be a long journey, I don’t think either of us realised just how long it would be.

To support her, and after she had her first mastectomy, I sent her a card every week, making some reference to being on the (train) journey with her, and this evolved into me buying Thomas the Tank Engine sticker books and making cards that would encourage her and help her on the journey.  

During the last eighteen months I haven’t seen her very much, but as well as sending her cards and sending and receiving messages from her, I also prayed for her.

I have to say that this friend has truly inspired me by the way she has dealt with the number of hospital visits, treatments and setbacks she has coped with.  Then just as things seemed to be getting better, she had the news that she had to have a second mastectomy, but she faced this with the same fortitude, grit and determination she has shown over the months and is now recovering from that operation.

I am privileged to call this dear lady my friend - and we go back a long time to when we used to work together - so on this day, which is an important one for us, as Christians, I remember not only Christ’s journey, but also my friend’s journey too and wish her well as she recovers.  As it's her birthday on Tuesday and I'm away, I will be seeing her later today just for a while, which I am really looking forward to.

Please don’t be cynical or upset about the way I have “tied” these two events together - we are all on a journey - and this particular friend has also supported me on my journey - but some are more difficult and longer than others.  However, with friends around us, cheering us on and encouraging us if we feel down, when we eventually make it to our destination, hopefully we have inspired many others on the way.

“It's funny how, in this journey of life, 
     even though we may begin 
          at different times and places, 
our paths cross with others 
     so that we may share 
          our love, compassion, 
               observations, and hope. 
This is a design of God 
     that I appreciate and cherish.” 
Steve Maraboli : 
Unapologetically You: Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

P.S.  I do have my friend's permission to share this with you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.