JELLY AVOCADOS - for Easter!

Made a slow start to the day and then it was all go.  First I got the bus to the Metrocentre as I needed to pick up a Click and Collect  order from The Works.  Just a few bits and bobs which were in The Sale.

I had intended popping the parcel in my shopping bag and then getting a bus to Newcastle - it was Match Day.  However I had forgotten that one of the items was a long roll of wrapping paper.  Too awkward to take to the footie.  So I got a bus back home, dumped the parcel and then got a bus to Newcastle.  Travel was trouble free so I got to town with plenty of time to shop for fruit in Waitrose before kick off.  The checkout assistant said my basket was the healthiest one he had scanned today.

I saw these Jelly Avocados in Waitrose among the Easter goodies.  I thought they were a rather silly addition to the Easter range. However Waitrose obviously think differently.  They say -  " These Jelly Avocados are a plant-based treat that is made to resemble the nutritious superfruit. After releasing a widely popular avocado chocolate egg for Easter last year the range now includes an artisan candy product that is completely cruelty-free and flavored with zesty lime juice and infused with plant-based concentrates like spirulina, safflower and carrot . The confections are sure to amuse Millennial audiences and fans of both candy and avocado"  So now you know. I'm not convinced. Well not for Easter anyway. Thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

Then I made my way to the football ground via Old Eldon Square.  The weather was warm and sunny and there were many people sitting on the seats and relaxing on the grass in the sunshine.  I took a photo which is part of the collage in my Extra.

Newcastle were playing Southampton.  The first half was great - Newcastle played some really good football. Ayoze Perez scored twice for Newcastle .  After the half time break Newcastle seemed to fade somewhat and let Southampton get a goal back.  So it was looking like a 2 - 1 win for The Toon.  However Perez had other ideas and on the 86th minute he scored his hat -trick. His first one for the club.  It was a good goal too.  The crowd went wild.  So a 3 - 1 win.  Happy faces all round.

In my collage you can see a few shots from St James Park.  The flags were there to mark a new initiative by Newcastle United  - United As One - which includes a  wide range of activities geared towards ending discrimination and inequality in football and in society.  A supporter group named United With Pride were responsible for the flags.

I got home around 8.30pm.  Ready for my tea I can tell you.  I'm not keen on these 5.30pm kick offs - much prefer 3pm. 

Ordered a laptop from Amazon this evening.  My PC is ancient and is running slow at the moment - and freezing.  Driving me mad.  So I finally decided to get my first laptop. Can't wait for it to arrive.

Steps today -10,661

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.