Driving to Devon

We're off in Marshall for more adventures. Whoop whoop!!
As usual we left way later than planned - those "last few bits" take hours.
So it was 11am rather than 9am but actually pretty good going for us!
We stopped for Subways/McDonalds at our usual stop near Swindon and then zoomed on our way. On one of our last journeys down the traffic was horrific and I had worried about holiday traffic but it was fine.
As we drove I read out the names of horses running in the Grand National and we all picked two. A dodgy internet connection made it touch and go but I got all our bets placed with minutes to spare. 50p each way!!
We got off the motorway at Exeter and went to pick up our rental car. The lanes round where we stay are bad enough in a car and we decided to avoid the stress of driving about in Marshall. 
The Grand National started just as we arrived so I stayed in the van to listen. I had to laugh as Archie jumped straight into Mr K's seat as usual when he gets out.
We did pretty well (apart from Mr K who's horses both sadly fell at the first). Miss L got first (Tiger Roll), Miss E got second (Magic of Light) and I got fourth (Walk in the Mill). So we are £20 up. Whoop whoop!!!!!!
Picking up the car took ages. We coincided with the arrival of a flight at Exeter airport so there were a couple of families in front of us and only one man working as his colleague had been rushed to hospital! But we got there eventually and everyone was very nice and chatty doing that thing you do, making friends in queues and waiting rooms!!
We got an upgrade and lots of freebies for our patience and niceness and eventually we set off again. Mr K, the Little Misses and Archie in Marshall in me in my nippy little Volvo V40. Very nice!!!
I did have a bit of an issue as I drove down the slip road back onto the M5. I was pumping the seat handle thinking I was moving the back back but was actually raising the seat up so my head was almost touching the ceiling. It seemed no matter what I did it kept going up!!
But I eventually got it sorted, adjusted the steering wheel height, found Five Live and got the AC going.
Probably all things I should have done before driving off in an unfamiliar car!!
I turned off at Buckfastleigh and headed down to Slapton. I love that last bit - winding roads, high hedges, pretty villages, sunshine, bright yellow fields. Gorgeous!!
I stopped at a garage for milk and could see on Find My Friends that Mr K was only a few miles behind me. I waited until he was just about to pass and then pulled out in front of him. I had meant to pull out just behind him but annoyingly a million cars appeared out of nowhere behind me and I couldn't just sit and wait!
Shortly past the garage the SatNav said to turn left, the sign said Slapton 5 miles. Yay, nearly there!!!
It was a glorious tiny lane, there was a  car ahead of me so I didn't need to worry about oncoming traffic and it was sunny and gorgeous. And we were nearly there. 
For about four and a half miles I was happy.
Then we got to Slapton.
OMG.
Tiny roads, parked cars, sticky out houses and walls, pedestrians, oncoming cars no matter how many times I reversed or squeezed into impossibly tight passing spaces. All in an unfamiliar car with hideous beeping reverse sensors. I actually wanted to cry!!
And I realised that rather than the campsite the SatNav was set just to Slapton itself and the campsite I thought we were staying at wasn't anywhere near the village. I thought we'd come in on a different road and I'd recognise it and there was nowhere to stop and check the internet and I was stuck in a nightmare of ever shrinking roads and the sinking feeling that it was a dead end and I'd have to just stay there forever as I wouldn't be able to get out.
I turned up a road which clearly led me back up in the same direction I'd just come down. Properly wanting to cry I finally found a place to stop and turn round. I wanted Mr K to come and rescue me but knew they wouldn't be able to get anywhere near in Marshall. I'd probably die in Slapton without ever seeing them again.
Having a word with myself for being such a pathetic idiot I drove back up and through the village again. I took a different road out and finally I was free!!!!!! 
Still thinking I was heading to the campsite on the main road I pulled into a lay-by and looked at the map on my phone. Still shaking and wanting to cry a bit!! 
My little blue dot appeared to be right next to Slapton Sands Camping and Caravanning Site. Confused I looked out of the window. There it was!!! In all it's glory - the sign that told me I'd made it. More by good luck than judgement but I was there. Whoop whoop!!!
Mr K was just checking in. Confusing as I'd been in front but I guessed he'd found a more sensible route round the village. 
He had not!! It turns out he had driven Marshall - all 3.5 tonnes, 7x3 metres of him - through the village. He was really rather proud of himself!!
Apparently our grandchildren will sit round the fire and hear tell of the time Grandpa drove Marshall through Slapton!!!!
We parked up and put the kettle on. The Little Misses were off on their bikes within seconds and we were baking baguettes for dinner. Not actually baking them from scratch, just warming up the ones which are part baked.
Otherwise our grandchildren would hear tales of the time Nana and Grandpa baked bread at Slapton Sands........
It's been a long day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.