Southbourne Beach, Bournemouth

I am spending the weekend away with all my sister’s family and my nephew’s in-laws. 13 adults, 2 little girls, and one very cute little dog. (See yesterday’s blip).

After a slow start we headed down to the beach this afternoon. It’s only 9 miles away from where we’re staying, but as is typical of a sunny hot Bank Holiday weekend in the UK, the traffic was horrendous and it took us over an hour to get there in slow moving bumper-to-bumper traffic. (This is why I usually stay home on a Bank Holiday!)

The beach was lovely though, and I did enjoy it even though I was unprepared and didn’t bring my chair. The little girls made friends, built a sandcastle, and buried their Uncle Tim in the sand (see Extra photo). They also joined some of the adults on two paddle boats. Bonny the little dog also enjoyed running around on the beach. As you can see it wasn’t terribly crowded considering it was a hot and sunny holiday weekend! I think I will return one day and maybe enjoy a beach like this for a few hours. When I remember to bring my chair and beach shelter.

Thankfully the traffic was much lighter going back and only took about 20 minutes. We had another enjoyable evening eating outside, staying out way after dark. What a great weekend for a big family reunion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.