Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Conrad

Conrad Dickinson, polar explorer from Northumberland, gave the keynote address for Hexham and District Photographic Society this evening. 

He is an excellent speaker. He told us mainly about his role as the trainer and guide for the British team in the Help for Heroes trek to the South Pole in 2013. Prince Harry was on the British team, but the 4 injured service personnel had only 4 legs between them! The training was gruelling and the trek was even worse. 

We saw photographs from the trip.

Then, to my surprise, Conrad explained how he had taken to wild life photography. (Polar sledges are getting heavier as he gets older!). He spends days waiting for the shot he wants.

The Forum Cinema was full tonight and I hope that the collection for the Northumberland Wildlife Trust was a large one. Seats for the talk were free.

Earlier today, Margret (next door) and I did the route for the Singing Walk. Margret found it too long, so I left her outside a cottage on the Military road and walked back to Haltwhistle for my car. We have devised a cunning plan so that she can come on the day, but not do the whole circuit.

Paul, the kitchen designer, called in at my request and we have revamped the design for the new kitchen. I'm much happier. Thinking about it had me awake at 5 am this morning......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.