Alveston Manor, Stratford upon Avon

We had a lie in, got up at 7.30 and were away by 9. The drive to Stratford upon Avon was an interesting one. The sat nav lady told us there were delays of 7, 12, 45 and eventually 68 minutes. We are not really sat nav savvy, but when she said click here to save 66 minutes, why wouldn't we? Well, we saw some of the narrowest, bumpiest tracks in the Cambridgeshire fens (road is too kind a description). We did save some time (but how the suspension on the car has suffered, only time will tell). We stopped in Whittlesey for coffee in a very old fashioned pub. We were desperate. It wasn't bad, and we needed a loo!

Through heavy rain, bright sunshine and hail, we eventually arrived at 1.20. We sat in the car and ate the picnic, then checked in at 2, to our beautiful suite! Those 3 windows on the far right are our rooms.

We waiting for a hail storm to subside, then took a walk around the town. Picked up the tickets for tomorrow evening when we are seeing As You Like It at The Shakespeare Theatre. We had a cup of tea in the theatre cafe then wandered back. I had a relaxing bath before dinner at 7. I'm going to detail what we ate, for Mollie's benefit, as we didn't take photos! Thai vegetable soup with noodles for starters. That was lovely. Jon had chicken and I had cod, both had lovely creamy sauces and veg. The a lemon tart for Jon and creme brule for me for pud. There was a small bottle of red wine in our room which we drank before we went to dinner. We seemed to find lots to chat about....even after 30 years! lol.

Now we are relaxing in the lounge of our suite where we have 2 armchairs and a tv. The bedroom has another tv....We only have a tv in the lounge at home, so it feels very extravagant!

Good to hear that dad had a surprise visit from his sister (My aunty Rhonda) today. Thanks to my cousin Candice for making this happen, I'm sure it was valuable family time they spent together. If I can, I'll add the photo as an extra.

Looking forward to the rest of our weekend....and glad I put in my Pac a Mac!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.