The second half of life..

By twigs

Mantis Yoga

What a beautiful day!  Felt more like the end of summer than the middle of autumn.  Mmmm-mmm!

Took a short stroll around Rivendell, LOTR location though, to be honest, you'd struggle to recognise it.  Clearly the digital editors in the studios did a great deal more work than I had imagined!

On then to Lower Hutt, venue for the PSNZ convention I've been looking forward to.  It was just a 30 or so minute drive from the park where I stayed to central Lower Hutt and the venue - the almost brand spanking new Lower Hutt Events Centre.  As you so often get at the start of these things, it was a little chaotic at the start as people arrived, registered, checked their programmes, asked questions, got lost, caught up with others...........within an hour or so though we were into the first workshop.  I decided to learn a little more about macro shooting with the very knowledgeable and experienced Chris Helliwell.  He'd brought along a few buggy friends which we were able to release in a nearby conservatory and then photograph.  This chap is one of my attempts using a pretty pink Impatiens as a background.  The problem with workshops like this though is that you end up with an expanded gear wish-list.........  I was pretty happy I understood the basics of his approach enough to take it away and play in my own time.  Good learning :D

If I'd known that when I booked my accommodation that the mpark I stayed at last night was just 30 minutes away I may have been tempted to stay there for the duration of the convention.......but I didn't so good ol'  Top10 gets my custom this time.  

Early morning start tomorrow so best get to bed now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.