Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

#52 Garganey

What a wonderful way to round off our long weekend in the Lakes - a visit to Leighton Moss on the way home in the sunshine :)

Still after adding to my list I really wanted to see the male garganey that has been present for some days. Well, I did see it, but only via someone else's scope - it was too far away for any sort of shot, but this much less attractive female was very obliging and was ever present in front of the Causeway hide all morning. Had someone not pointed it out to us, I'd have just thought it was another female mallard.....!  I know I'm not much of a proper birder(I am learning...slowly), but in my defence, female ducks do all look quite similar. 

We were also treated to a couple of fly-bys by the marsh harrier, coots feeding their young and I also added the great black backed gull to my list (extras). 

It's such a shame I have to go back to work tomorrow :( 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.