4th May

May the 4th be with you! as they might say on the Star Ship Enterprise.

Some days have such a flurry of activity that I find I can’t actually remember what I did. My watch says I walked 9 miles today and that I can believe.
The beautiful blue sky behind the Barclay-Bruntsfield church as seen in my extra was what greeted me as I walked the marches at 7 am. It made up in part for it feeling like 5°, but unfortunately it didn’t last all day.

Having been beaten by the Internet when I tried to buy a train ticket and it wouldn’t accept my senior railcard, I was forced to wait in a queue at the Booking Office in Waverley station for a charming and helpful assistant to do the needful.
It was only later when I was a mile away in George Street buying birthday cards that I realised I didn’t have my banker’s card and must have left it in the card reader at the station. Back I went in a hurry trying to avoid all the case pulling tourists. Relieved is an under estimation of how I felt to discover it was there in their safe.

At lunch time and in the afternoon there were visits made to my two eldest daughters, one spending Saturday manning an art gallery and the other one immersed in advanced statistics to help my grandson in the preparation for an exam next week. Mmmm, I know which of the occupations I’d rather be involved in.

My blip is of two doors in the New Town. I’m a bit surprised that doors are allowed to be painted this colour as I imagine it is a conservation zone or even a heritage site, but they do enliven the rest of the stone terrace of houses.

Now back at the ranch and continuing with my occupation of hat knitting. At this rate I may have to take a stall at the Meadows Festival!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.