Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Arty walk

Popped to the doctor this morning to get new blood tests, and I await the results with interest. The doctor will ring me on Monday. I have a theory re my aches and pains, which are not limited to my knees. Sorry to keep going on about my medical dramas, but it's a sort of diary.

I did pop on the bike for half an hour, and in keeping with my new determination to go walking each day, I took Archie out in the afternoon (Michael had taken him out in the morning). JR went to buy flowers for the front garden.

I had it in mind to take the bus down to Princes Street Gardens, but as we came down Lothian Road, I hopped off and we walked along to the canal instead. Disappointingly, the old murals that used to be along the canal are gone, with only this one left.

I looked down the road, instead of crossing the canal for home, and I realised I could see the new Edinburgh Printmakers base. I'd read about it in the papers. So we walked down for a look. But was it dog friendly?

I could see a chap at the desk. I tapped the big windows and, with a quizzical look, pointed at the dog. He gave a thumbs up! I had a passable flat white (and NO cake) in the cafe, though the service was very slow. They'd only been open about a week, and so they're not quite organised...

And what a fantastic facility it is! The first exhibit is a linocut taking up the whole floor of the room, and prints from it on the back wall. (Extra)

I recognised a woman who was wandering around in the cafe. I called out to her when she got near enough, 'I used to know you!' She had been an art teacher and our paths crossed a few times when I was involved in computers, though we weren’t pals. She's a printmaker, and uses the facilities here as often as she can. We had a good catch up and agreed with each other that we were glad to be well out of education!

I did do a weekend course at the Old Printmakers a few years ago, but didn’t join up, it being too expensive to just putter about.

It took me absolutely ages to walk home (5,984 steps). It was uphill a slight slope most of the way. I was stuffed! And very stiff - not just my knees. Which supports my theory that it's NOT my knees that are the problem...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.