Loch Tay

After a wonderful breakfast of scrambled eggs, avocado and bacon, and despite the very heavy rain, we set off on a magical mystery tour - well for me, obviously Diane and David knew where we were going ;-)   I've been told that you can get 4 seasons in one day here, and I think we experienced that today - we went from rain, to sunshine, to mist, to snow.  Yes, Snow!

We drove from Auchterarder, through Crieff, the Sma' Glen to Aberfeldy and then on to Loch Tay.  David was an excellent taxi driver, happily stopping for me when I saw something I wanted to take a photo of - Diane's obviously got him well trained as a blip assistant.  It was wonderful to see snow on tops of the mountains and when we stopped to take some photos (see extras), little did I realise that later on we'd actually be driving through it!

Loch Tay was beautiful, although there was quite a foreboding sky coming towards us, but the colours and the reflections from these cottages and boats really stood out.  David and I walked along the banks of the loch and I managed to get my shots and we were back at the car before the worst of the rain came.  We then drove over the bridge to Kenmore where I wanted to see the little church as my friend Amanda had told me that she'd got married there.  

From there we drove back along the other side of the River Tay to Aberfeldy and had a late lunch at the Watermill where I had Courgette and Brie soup, and then we set off on our journey back through Glen Quaich up a very steep and twisty single track road, and yes, sure enough we met a driver coming in the opposite direction which resulted in David having to reverse quite a way back down until he found a spot wide enough for the car to pass.  As we set off back up the hill, we hoped that we wouldn't meet anyone else.  The higher we got, the rain turned to sleet and then at the highest point it was snowing and the road was white although it was quite slushy.  David was glad he still had his winter tyres on!  Anyway, we made it safely round the final sharp hairpin bend and back down to normal roads.  The weather meant the views weren't as far reaching as they could have been, but the scenery was still breathtaking.

We got back home at 5pm, had a glass of wine and then I went for a soak in the bath as we had a table booked at the local Italian for 7.30pm.  David didn't join us for dinner, but kindly drove us there and picked us back up and got himself a takeaway.  The food was wonderful and we had another very pleasant evening.

Apologies for the lack of comments, but I've not been spending much time online - I'll catch up soon and hope you have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.