Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Meet Laura

a friend of a friend
she's a cancer survivor
laura has great style

Quite better viewed large.

As I arrived at the supermarket, I noticed this lady, whom I thought had great style. I parked and saw that she was talking with two friends of mine, Helen and Carl, who are the musical leaders of my drama group. I said hello and proceeded to do my shopping, as I had left my camera in my car.

When I got out, I spent a little time in the car and heard my name. They didn't call me, but they were talking about me. I got out of the car (with camera this time, I was not about to miss another opportunity!) and there were Helen, Carl, this lady and a man whom I assumed was her husband or companion.

We talked a bit and I asked Laura (who had been introduced to me by then) if I could take her portrait, telling her that her style had struck me from the time I'd arrived on the supermarket's parking lot. Her husband revealed that her hair was actually growing back after she'd had chemo. She's fine, now. I told her her hair suited her perfectly this way - everyone agreed. She said that she was reluctant to keep it this short because it reminded her of the reason why it was like this. I then told her that I understood but maybe, if she decided, consciously, to keep it like this, she would then own the hairstyle and it wouldn't be something she had to endure, but an actual, positive choice. Her husband agreed wholeheartedly.

I don't think you'll disagree, she has just the face for this hairstyle. And she looks stunning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.