A Still Life for Eating

It was the kind of day that saps one’s mental and physical energy- the east wind saw to that, bringing in low mist and rain. Nevertheless, anointed with Tiger Balm, I hitched a lift into town with my bus pass to visit Daughter #1 in the gallery she mans on a Saturday, and then hitched a lift home on a bus packed with sodden visitors destined either for the Castle or the Museum. It was not a day to be trudging round wet pavements.

My DIY guru came in the afternoon to replace a handle on HL’s wardrobe which he was happy to leave broken for years, but I managed to get a replacement fixing, and bingo, it is back to factory settings.

I had a video conversation with my Orkney agent who has procured a class for me at the Shetland Wool week and the hire of a car for 2 days so that we can explore the Islands. She is worth her weight in gold is Poppy. What a star friend!

And that is the sum total of my day apart from a short trip to buy some more circular knitting needles and starting another Fair Isle hat. I am chasing the perfect combination of patterns and colours. I realise I may never reach my goal, but my family and friends will all be thanking me for my beanies........or not!

Now tonight which is dominated by the Eurovision Song Contest and Britain’s got Talent, I may have to listen to ClassicFM instead while I plain and purl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.