The Sedentary Life

The sedentary life of a lady with a painful calf muscle is not one I embrace easily. My bus pass has been put to good use so as not to exacerbate the damage as I have some visiting to do in other parts of the UK next week. You don’t realise how important working limbs are until they act up.

However the bus and I made it into town to buy loose vegetables for a curried vegetable stew. My very local supermarket doesn’t do loose and I end up with quantities of things like carrots that go bad if I can’t use them all quickly enough.

I drew the short straw last night at our book group and not only had to choose the next book to read but also host the meeting and bake the cake. Fortunately with the next meeting not until July, I have time to think about the cake and clean the house. The book I have already chosen- The Seal Woman’s Gift by Sally Magnusson.

Now I’m looking forward to the TGIF glass of wine with my neighbours. I think the weekend may be a bit bleak when the good weather departs for foreign parts.

For the nosy folk, the picture on the tea towel covering the ice pack wrapped round my leg, is of the Stromness waterfront

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.