Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Silliness

I had to make a quick trip to south Tucson this morning to purchase printer ink cartridges.  On my way, I passed this crumbling building and got a glimpse of the sign as I drove by.  Forgetting it was Saturday, my first thought was that I could use it as a derelict Sunday challenge (I have never entered that challenge) but I would have to find it again on my way home.  I became one of those people who drive 25 mph in a 40 mph zone to find it on my return trip because I had to look over my shoulder to see it and then find a spot to turn around before hitting the Interstate on-ramp.  I did, and here it is.  I love how you can practically tell the afternoon time by the shadows cast by the letters.

THE JOYS OF BEING OVER 50
*Kidnappers are not very interested in you.
*In a hostage situation, you are likely to be released first.
*No one expects you to run into a burning building.
*People call at 9 p.m. and ask, “Did I wake you?”
*People no longer view you as a hypochondriac.
*There’s nothing left to learn the hard way.
*Things you buy now won’t wear out.
*You can eat dinner at 4 p.m.
*You enjoy hearing about other people’s operations.
*You have a party and the neighbors don’t even realize it.
*You no longer think of speed limits as a challenge.
*You sing along with the elevator music.
*Your joints are more accurate meteorologists than the National Weather Service.
*Your secrets are safe with your friends because they can’t remember them either.
*Your supply of brain cells is finally down to a manageable size.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.