Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Saturday morning market

A good start to the day, I went with Gavin on a run and we did just over 6km. I only stopped once, briefly to speak to a man walking his Vizsla in the woods - what a bouncy friendly dog, he was still trying to train him to not jump up, but rather that than a dog that snarls at you and is unfriendly.

Back home I cooked Thomas a special breakfast (his favourite of poached eggs on avo sourdough toast). He usually prepares his own breakfast and lunch but I said I would prefer to do it for him so he can rather spend his time studying, and then just come downstairs when the meal is ready. 

Gavin and I went in to the village, and the monthly Saturday market was on, where I took this photo with the new lensbaby lens. It looks like a toy lens, it is small and light, a pancake lens, and is very inexpensive compared to the usual Nikon lenses, so I did not expect superior optics from it, but it is a fun lens. Learning to focus is a bit of a challenge and you have to tilt the lens to get the right focal plane and then manually focus. I also had an attempt at a portrait (see extra) but that may take more practising!

Luke and his friend did get to the wedding venue yesterday - the insurance covered a hired car which they got after being towed to the nearest dealership for the car to be repaired. They have been given money to get home again so they will be flying back after the wedding which is today. Thank goodness his friend took out European insurance before they left, as one would not expect a three year old Mercedes to break down and therefore the need for break down insurance would seem superfluous.

A BBQ supper tonight, it is still lovely weather, although that looks to get cooler next week.

I really don't think that a different Prime Minister will change anything regarding getting Brexit resolved, it's all such a mess. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.