Clearing up...

We slept in tents at the scout hut. I had about 4 hours sleep, and after 5.30am I just couldn't sleep. I got up at 6.30 and made a cup of tea for Jon and I. Do you know, I still can't stop smiling. At the very end of our party, at about 11.30 Manda appeared! She had driven like the wind to be able to share in some of our celebrations, after spending the day in Gloucester(?) at a netball tournament that Iona was taking part in. We did miss them so much, but it couldn't be helped, but it was amazing to have Manda there just at the end. It was just a shame she didn't see everyone, but Martin and Andy were still drinking and catching up on memories, as we were all venture scouts together back in the early 80s at the Borrell venture scout unit in Hoddesdon. Such happy times. So Manda could join in there, and had even brought her one woman tent to kip in.

This morning, we washed up and dismantled the party. It took us half the day. We had lots of cake to sustain us! Manda drove back to see mum and dad, who were catching up with Darryl, Clare and Aunty Rhonda, my dad's sister. We had return visits from a few Karen and Neil friends (an in joke) who helped out, with the Cambridge K & N pair coming back with us to help move the many bits and pieces.

After a bit of lunch and catching up, aunt and cousins headed back on the road to Woking, but not before a family photo. Thank you Darryl and Clare for making the long journey to bring the oldie siblings together once more. I know we all very much appreciated it.

Karen and Neil headed back to Cambridge at 5. Jon and I were about to collapse, but not before an hour or so with mum and dad. Dad drove up Friday against everyone's better judgement, determined to be with us at our special celebration, and to spend the evening with his sister. They went back home and Jon and I opened the many beautiful cards and presents, totally unexpected but very gratefully accepted. Thank you everyone so much. We feel touched, and loved and very humble. Thank you for the gifts, but also the kind words. I wouldn't have celebrated this any other way, but with my favourite people. You all made it special. This was truly a weekend to remember. During the planning I said never again, but it was worth every ounce of stress and every penny of Jon's hard earned cash ;-) and I would definitely do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.