A time for everything

By turnx3

Evening walk

Monday
After a good flight, but not much sleep (!), we arrived in Heathrow 10-15 minutes early, at about 10.50. We enjoyed some beautiful views, in good visibility, over London as we descended and came into land, picking out a lot of the landmarks, Tower Bridge, Buckingham Palace, the London Eye, Houses of Parliament, etc. However, unfortunately most of the shots I took on my phone didn’t come out very well, which I don’t really understand, as previously I’ve had some very good results on my phone. We were soon through passport control and took the shuttle to pick up our rental car. Turned out they’d given us an upgrade, and it’s a very nice, brand new Volvo, but it’s so big, too big to feel comfortable on British roads. We stopped at a service station on our way to my sister’s and it was overhanging both ends of the parking slots! It doesn’t bother Roger, especially since he grew up driving cars round the narrow country lanes of Guernsey, but having spent so much time living in the States with their big roads, and Roger tending to do most of the driving when we come over, I’m less confident! Still, we only have it until the weekend, when we leave for the Scilly Isles! We had a pleasant drive, and arrived at my sister’s about mid afternoon. My nephew Andrew arrived later in the afternoon, to join us for dinner, having just returned from the weekend on a narrow boat on the Kennet and Avon Canal with some friends. After we’d had a cup of tea, Janet suggested we might like to take the dog for a walk, while she was finishing up dinner, so Andrew took us in his car to one of their usual nearby walks, along the River Severn, where they can let her off the lead for some of it. As you can see from my top photo, the sky was looking quite threatening in places, but we managed to complete our walk in the dry, though as we drove back, we could see the rain falling on the Malverns in the distance. Jet lag started catching up with Roger about 8.30, as he started nodding off on the sofa, whereas I managed to last until about 10pm before turning in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.