St George's, Norwich

At lunchtime I went on a short walk with James to take in a bit of historic Norwich. Being a real Norfolkian, who is really interested in history, James has little bits of obscure knowledge others just wandering around wouldn't know about. We crossed the river towards Colegate and went in this medieval church. James said it has a connection with a local famous artist John Crome (but I'd never heard of him) googling I discover he was christened here on Christmas day 1768 and is buried here too. We will go back and look for the stone. He was the person who set up the Norwich school of Art way back then. I guess at that time Norwich was the 2nd largest city after London.

We walked round in a loop. James showed me a hidden pump, also 18th century, then back to the office.

I've been waiting for the bus for 20 minutes. I'd hoped to get home a bit earlier today but 16.34 has been and gone, and no bus. So annoying. So it will be 6 oclock again if I'm lucky. It might be late due to Take That who are playing here tonight. Anything like that messes up the buses.

So my whole blip done at the bus stop - including research!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.