Red Catchfly

I was down on the edge of the river when I heard a voice from above. "Are you looking for something interesting down there?" "No, just my lens cap", I replied. this gentleman with a west midlands accent seemed very interested in the wildlife in the River Teign. He thought there ought to be trout in there with the gravelly bottom. It's often a bit cloudy around here. It runs past the clay works and there's a lot of white ball clay in the soil so I don't imagine it's suitable for trout, not that I know much about such things. I know there'll be sticklebacks and minnows because kingfishers are sometimes seen here.

I'd been sitting on the bank lining up these red campion and my lens cap was on my knee. Somehow, I must have dislodged it and I watched it roll down the bank and into the river. I decided to pop down and get it. The bank looked as if it was used by dogs to get into the river as it was quite smooth and free from grasses. It looked a bit steep but I figured I could claw my way back up. Could I see the darned thing? I knew exactly where it went and there was no depth to the water but I could see no sign of it. I suppose I needed my polariser to see through the reflections but it was in my bag up on the bank. I was just frustrated because I know where it went in!

Anyway, a pretty little riverside scene with Red Catchfly, which I think is quite a nice name for the plant I know better as Red Campion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.