Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Family...

This time last year, the bluebirds that nested in my garden were feeding 10-day old fledglings.  This year, we had a male who was coming around for several weeks, but never with a female.  Then a gap with no bluebirds; then early this week the male was back with a female, in and out of the box.  Today, she started bringing grass into the box while he eagerly sang.  Strangely, he frequently went in the box after she'd deposited a load of grass, removed a piece and carried it around for a while.  Very odd behavior and not something I've seen before.  

Mom, Dad and I enjoyed watching them through the kitchen window as they busily worked on the nest.  We suspect that this is a first-time dad and that the female is a bit older and more experienced.  He doesn't seem quite clear on his role in the nest-building process whereas she appears to be a pro.  My best guess is that this female lost her first mate and/or her brood and this is a second attempt.  Whatever the case, they are working at record speed on the nest with almost no breaks.  

Today is Mom and Dad's last day here as they will leave tomorrow morning to head west.  I'm going to miss them terribly when they go, but I know they are looking forward to more adventures.  I love that they enjoy life so much - a shining example for me.  

Cheers.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.