Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The bee's knees

The day started cool and cloudy, but eventually became sunny, warm and delightful.  Seeing the the weather in Oregon was also dreary, I arranged a chat with my parents.  It was good talking to them - they sounded in good spirits, making peace with this strange new world we find ourselves in.  Cautiously taking baby steps.  Oregon is further along on reopening than New Jersey and New York, but still far away from anything that looks like "normal."

After getting off the phone, I tackled some weeding, finished repairs to the fountain and then grabbed my macro lens and spent some time stalking insects in the garden.  Bliss!  I love photographing birds but I also really love the macro world of insects and spiders.  I'd be hard pressed to choose a favorite.

This tiny halictid bee (about 1/4 inch) is common in our part of the world and distinctive for it's brilliantly metallic green hues.  It is commonly known as a Metallic Green Sweat Bee, Genus Agapostemon.  This one is most likely a female.  I think she's lovely, and I can't often get images I like of this species so... blip in the bag.

Terrible riots going on across our country right now.  A sign of the racism that has been hiding in plain sight for such a long time.  Now with stress levels high, people are not acting with restraint, not thinking, not acting with kindness.  It is heartbreaking and I am avoiding reading too much about it at the moment.

Remember to...stay safe, keep social distancing, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.