Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Potbound to an extreme

We (like many gardeners) watched several of the Chelsea Flower Show programmes.  One featured several "plants of the year".  I fell in love with all the top three.

Googled them, found supplies of the agapanthus and the digitalis at one nursery in Oxfordshire.  Not cheap, but what the heck?  Ordered them on Monday, they arrived today.  Initially we were very pleased with the condition - they are all budding.  But we were subsequently disconcerted by the extent to which the agapanthus is rootbound.  I actually took this photo to send to the nursery - we've planted them on, but if they don't thrive, I will be considering whether I should ask for my money back.

I've cleared space and planted up the agapanthus - I had to sacrifice many of the self-seeded aquilegia plants.  And I've planted up the foxglove.  W has planted 2 trees and prepared a bed in the poly tunnel for lettuce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.