Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Crack(ed) Pot

Got up really early for a new company to inspect my HVAC system.  Turns out that the company that installed the furnace to begin with (and disappeared into the night last December with my $450) placed it on a plywood platform.  Naturally, they never told me at every bi-annual inspection that it was dry rotting.  They also never told me that they screwed up installing two giant vents.  So the furnace will have to be hoisted, the platform replaced with something that won't dry rot in our sun and heat and new sheet metal vents will have to me made and installed.  Such a great start to the morning! 

I had a busier than usual day.  After he left I took out the trash bins, chatted with neighbors, attended physical therapy, grabbed a bite for lunch (must keep up the energy!), managed to get a photo of this cool busted pot I've been wanting to blip, went for lab work, had primary care appointment, picked up some wonderful fruit at Sprouts and stopped at MOD pizza for the first time because I needed something to take home for dinner. 

That place is different: you slide along and tell them what to put on it. There's one base price for as many toppings as you want.  It was decent and we'll probably get it again.

I'm going to start a new series: HOW TO START A FIGHT!
Mom picked out this first one.  Brace yourself.

After retiring, I went to the Social Security office to apply
for Social Security. The woman behind the counter asked me for my driver’s License to verify my age.

I looked in my pockets and realized I had left my wallet at
home. I told the woman that I was very sorry, but I would have to go home and come back later.

The woman said, ‘Unbutton your shirt’. So I opened my shirt revealing my curly silver hair. She said, ‘That silver hair on your chest is proof enough for me’ and she processed my Social Security application.

When I got home, I excitedly told my wife about my experience at
the Social Security office. She said, ‘You should have dropped
your pants. You might have gotten disability too.’

And that’s how the fight started…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.