Haytor rocks

Thursday 30th May 2019

Oops! I woke at 5.30am, too early, back to sleep. Next time I woke and looked at the clock it was 9.50am and the first session was 9.30 - 10.15am. Oops! My phone or charger (hope it's the charger) had died over night and therefore I had no alarm clock and everyone was still in silence so no-one disturbed me. I decided to turn over and go back to sleep! I managed to get up in time to go out and get some petrol, back just in time for lunch. 

I led the rebel escape group this afternoon. One other person joined me. We declined the photo walk in the grounds and drove off to Haytor on Dartmoor. As we turned the corner and saw the rocks on the hill we both agreed we had made the right decision. 

We walked up to the rocks but decided not to climb to the top of them. We photographed around and then went in search of the old quarry I had been told about. We meandered across the moor but didn't succeed in finding it. It was time to head back to the car if we wanted to hit the deadline of submitting our photos for the reflection. On the way back we saw a path off to our right with a stile. We decided to investigate and found the quarry we had been told about, a little oasis on the moor. It was an amazing place and we didn't have time to do justice to it. I wish I had gone out yesterday. We got back rather late but still managed to get our photos to the leader, who kindly got them into the reflection before our 5.30pm session. 

We've just finished the evening session with communion. The retreat is over and it is time to head back tomorrow. I would love to explore the area a bit more so will have to return. I don't want to delay departure tomorrow as I want to get home and miss the Friday evening traffic if possible.        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.