CORNFLOWER

Another busy day - washing and ironing and general sorting out.  Still haven't packed but it shouldn't take long as I'm only away for 2 nights.

I walked down to the village to collect my repeat prescription. Also got some cash out at the cashpoint in the bank.

Soon after I got home I got a message from Barclays to say that the new debit card I had requested would be with me soon. It also said to contact them if I hadn't requested a replacement card.  Well I hadn't so I Googled to find the phone number for Barclays and gave them a ring.  After answering loads of security questions I was able to tell someone why I was ringing.  The guy checked ... the message was from Barclays and they had sent me a replacement card.  I wondered why as my card hadn't been stolen and it didn't expire until 2021.  I was told that Barclays had cancelled it for my own protection as they thought that the cash machine I had used this afternoon was " dodgy " ( my word not his ).  I said that the cashpoint was inside the bank and the bank was a small one so I didn't think it was likely that someone would have tampered with the machine.  But the guy said it was possible.  My bank is now aware that there might be a problem.  All very strange. 

So now I can't use my debit card.  Even if a new one comes in the post tomorrow I will have already left for Ireland - taxi is at 4.35am.  I wasn't intending using my card over the weekend but I was going to take it just in case I made a big purchase or maybe had a meal out.  I will now take my credit card instead - or stick to cash if I have enough. 

I found this lovely cornflower in the back lane as I was walking to the village.  Musical link is  HELLO DOLLY by The Bachelors.  The cornflower is also known as Bachelors Button.

Might not be able to make many comments this evening as I will be busy. And comments over the weekend will depend on what I'm doing and whether I can get wifi.  I will catch up when I get home hopefully.

Steps today - 8,794

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.