The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Last view of Bardolino

Today was my last day in Italy (I've some back-blipping to do). After my final lovely breakfast, eaten in the garden, and packing, I headed off to town to check the festival food stalls, and have one last stroll and an ice cream from Cristallo, where it the gelato love affair began for me. (Amaretto again, asper last Sunday. The wheel came full circle).

After saying my goodbyes to the helpful, friendly hotel staff, I waited for my coach to the airport. To cut a long story short, all went well until we weren't allowed to land at Bristol airport. After making our descent, we had to re-ascend and hold around Somerset until another plane had cleared. That was stomach-churning, but eventually I was on the airport coach to Bristol, luggage and all, followed by two trains, ending up in Stroud. CleanSteve met me.

After a week of Italian food and zero heartburn, I didn't fancy a ready-meal curry, so we went to Waitrose. I couldn't believe how expensive it was! I'm used to doing my food shopping in Aldi and Iceland.

Still, here we are, after our expensive meals, watching Montalbano and fancying that I can now speak Italian!

I'm definitely going back to Lake Garda! I recommend June or September. Bardolino town and the hotel Bardolino, with its free bikes and friendly staff, were definitely the right choice for me. So much natural beauty, so easy to get around by bus, boat, bike or even on foot through lthe lapping waters of the lake. I shall miss the slower pace of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.