Dawn

The view east from the aptly named Daybreak Cottage. A truly beautiful sky at 04:45. An extra, looking in a different direction and slightly later, of the small cruise ship at anchor in Pierowall Bay. Small compared to the monsters which call into Kirkwall and Lerwick anyway.

The crossing to Rapness was calm and seemed pretty speedy yesterday. Our fish suppers were waiting for us at Jack's. The cottage is as lovely as we remembered from last year. The dogs love the beach which is directly in front of the cottage. I love it too for beachcombing.

Despite feeling very comfortable and at home only Cameraman slept well last night and as he can sleep on a bed of nails it's not a fair comparison. Both the dogs were restless and this gorgeous sunrise woke me up. I didn't really mind.

Unfortunately the weather has deteriorated since the early morning. It's really wet, windy and pretty chilly. Luckily Daybreak has a huge window overlooking the bay so even in such squally weather there is a good view but I must admit that sightings of the cruise ship, still at anchor, have come and gone with the murk. I'm hoping things will improve as I need to get out for some air. I have been out with the dogs but I've had to take my chances when the rain has stopped temporarily. Unsurprisingly I've not spotted IainatCreel and CMC on their Westray cycling weekend. I hope they have some good shelter or maybe they have decided to get an earlier ferry home.

Despite the weather we are very pleased to be back for our third visit to the island of Westray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.