Mathers No More

Monday morning came round all too fast, and I will have to work a full week this week, no more three day weeks for a while.  There was much whispering amongst a few of us this morning, as we had arranged a surprise birthday celebration for a  colleague who is 60 tomorrow.  We were not expecting him in tomorrow, hence the plan for today, but when I got in today he said his plans had changed and he would be at work tomorrow.  Anyway, the plan was made and we decorated his desk when he went out for lunch, another colleague had baked him a cake and there were cards and presents.  He was delighted and showed off his bus pass, adding that he is looking forward to using it tomorrow!  He took his presents home unopened.  TT is hoping for positive feedback on the whisky!

In amongst all this, I did manage to fit in some work.  I had to come home via the supermarket, as I have spent the evening baking for a  cake sale at work tomorrow.  Baking on a weeknight is a bit of a chore, but I really got into the swing of it and could have baked more, but I would have been up all night.  They will have to make do with a lemon drizzle cake and raspberry and white chocolate muffins – my standby recipes for such occasions.

Once all that was done, I needed some steps for my step challenge, so had to pop out for twenty minutes.  I am nothing if not dedicated, or maybe just mad!

I spotted this at lunchtime, but alas the pub known as Mathers is no more.  It’s now called the Empress of Broughton Street.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.