Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

D Day commemoration

Well the subject of today's widwed is 'historical' and by luck or good judgement it falls on the Commemoration of 75 years since D Day, so of course I took myself off to Portsmouth to check it out.  Huge numbers of people on Southsea Common and an enormous barricade round the main action so that those of us who'd paid for it couldn't see it and had to watch it on giant screens instead.  But who am I to cavil, it saved us from the DTs.  From what I saw on the screens, I give the dignity prizes to the Queen and Angela Merkel, the flakiest PM's hat to Theresa May and a first edition of - oops - to - erm.  Well, you get the point.

And as a final observation, there were more news crews there than I've ever seen before in one place.  I might even be on tv myself tonight - one of those annoying people who can't keep out of shot!

In Extras is HMS St Albans which fired a salute just before the flypast (spitfires, bombers, Red Arrows, etc).

Now I'm going to look through all the WFW19_08 entries - there are some crackers this week - and will post the results here as soon as..

Thanks so much to Steveng for hosting today's widwed challenge, and have a happy evening  xx

WFW19_08 - Results
HEARTS (in no particular order) go to:
steveng
Howu
TheBroon
AGBPhotography
Giraffe5
and Honourable Mentions to:
Diane2104
Springlilly
Janepetleyjones
Seasidesusie
JudyD
..and, as always, my thanks to you all for you gorgeous entries x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.