Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

June Gloom

Odd day with intermittent slight showers.  (not enuf)   June gloom is a “thing” apparently.   I think we call it “marine air”.   H and I did manage a good row at the exact right time this morning, before the wind came up.  but then it was downhill...decided not to go to Galiano as planned...better tomorrow maybe.   Out little boat got picked up and towed to the boat shop in Ganges.
We watched the moving Canadian tributes to D day on tv with pictures from Juno Beach,(Canada's responsibility) France as well.  H and I were still 3 years old….. and we never heard our parents talk much about it.  My parents were married on June 6, 1936.   My Dad was in the US Coast Guard on Lake Michigan(!) in 1944.
Having been to Normandy to see those beaches makes it more real but I wish the world had learned more from that terrible war.   I'll keep on hoping.

Played with the water images from here and the tv ones at Juno Beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.