The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The fairy shop

Stroud has a fairy shop. Some might say that many Stroudies are away with the fairies, but I couldn't possibly comment.

I don't go in there too often because it's the sort of place aimed at little girls, where they don't really like the children to touch anything! Especially not members of my extended family. We prefer the shop that sells Sylvanian families. At least, we did before my niece turned into a grown up: just realised that she is 20 now!

The shop window looked interesting with its dreamcatchers, so I snapped it on the way to the Shambles, knowing I'd be indoors all day. As indeed I was.

Business was ok for both of us but I got fed up with the bargain hunters, and removed my bargain basket. Two pounds isn't much for a greetings card that is printed in the UK, but a few weeks ago someone told me she didn't want to spend two quid on a wedding card! In the same week, another person (not one of the ones I look after) said that her mother didn't spend more than TWENTY pounds per head on presents for her daughter's friends, if said daughter was invited to a party. We live in unequal times.

Now I'm home, and the songs that Norm the CD seller plays are still banging around my skull. Currently it's Help me Rhonda by the Beach Boys.
https://youtu.be/QPnBrK6D26g
Happy Days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.