Flowers

Because I'm useless and disorganised and things which happen every year - birthdays, Father's Day, Christmas etc - never fail to take me by surprise. Actually worse, I see them on the calendar, think I must do x, y and z for that, sometimes even buy cards, and then suddenly it's too late, the thing is here and I've missed it/forgotten it/left it too late to do anything about it/been paralysed by remembering it and still not doing anything about it. As it gets closer and closer and I watch its approach and feel the car crash coming. And still do nothing.
Miss L's birthday is on the 10th February. Obviously I didn't forget that!
The problem I have is with her party. Her birthday is only about five weeks after they go back to school. Plenty of time to organise a party and send out invites. You would think.
The problem is I think about it but don't do anything. 
The first week back at school I say to Miss L we really must think about your party and ask her what she's like to do. A laser party she says.
I feel all organised. This year will be different I think.
Two weeks later I say we really must sort out your party Miss L already having the nagging feeling that it's getting late to send out invites, it's always the first weekend of half term so people will be away and no-one will be able to come and I've left it too late. 
Which makes me think I'll have to move it forward a week or so.
But still I do nothing. 
Weeks go by, I think about it a lot so I can't in truth say that I forget but still I do nothing.
Miss L asks have I sorted out her party. No but I will.
It's starting to keep me awake. As is the fact we're getting closer to Miss E's birthday and I've done nothing about that either.
Eventually, on February 13th (remember the date of Miss L's birthday?) I booked a party at Safari MK for today. It was a nightmare finding a date which is partly what stopped me in the first place.
But it was done, the invites could go out in plenty of time, all her friends could come, and she was giddy - about the party and the fact she'd get a load of presents weeks after her birthday!
She loved it!!! It's in a big soft play centre and they get to play for an hour before eating. Then the centre closes to everyone else, the lights are turned off and they have an hour in the dark running around shooting lasers at each other. Brilliant!!
I forgot my phone so I have no photos!!
As I've said very year for as long as I can remember, this year I really must book a party for her before Christmas. I don't have to send out the invites that early, but if it's all booked and sorted I can just send the invites out in the first or second week of term and it will be so much easier and less stressful.
We'll see!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.