The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The seaside cake

I picked up the children from school today and we went to buy some cake decorating supplies.

"Why is this shop selling suitcases and flip flops and deckchairs?"

" Because it's summer. It's just that the weather is wrong" I replied from the depths of my raincoat.

When we got back we found we didn't have enough basics for the actual cake, so the eldest girl went off to buy some and I got started anyway. She made three layers of sponge, then I cooked dinner, then their Dad came home as we were about to start decorating. I stayed on to help anyway. They want to enter the cake into a competition at a fete tomorrow. The theme is 'seaside'. We've had enough rain in the last week to create another ocean, never mind the sea. I hope it doesn't rain on the fete tomorrow, nor my school one. I shall be indoors at the Shambles market.

Then I came home and cooked another meal. I must find another way of doing things on childminding days, so that I don't end up cooking twice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.