TINY TUESDAY - WHITE-TAILED BUMBLEBEE

We have an appointment this afternoon, so I decided to get up a little later and stay in my pink robe this morning so I had a wander round the garden to find something to photograph for Tiny Tuesday.

Mr. HCB has been up for far longer and was well into feeding the plants and doing whatever he does in his greenhouse.  I did eventually give in and he cut the grass yesterday, but not quite as short as usual, so hopefully, the buttercups and daisies will soon grow again.

I had a pleasant amble round the garden admiring the beautiful flowers, smelling the roses and generally being mindful of my surroundings.  

The Compassion rose is doing very well, although the heavy rain has spoiled some of the blooms, but the perfume is amazing.  I do love to see how the petals fold around one another, so have put my favourite shot in as an extra.

However, as I wandered towards the part of the garden where I had planted lots of seeds a couple of weeks ago, the white-tailed bumble bees around the blackberry flowers were what caught my eye - and there were lots of them. They didn't stay on one flower for too long, but were flitting about quite quickly from flower to flower, snaffling whatever they could, so I had to be quick.

This little beauty stayed long enough for me to get a reasonable shot, which is my offering for Tiny Tuesday.

It's quite a dull day, but not as cold as it has been and at least it's not raining, so we are thankful for that - since typing this it has started raining - ah well, it will do the grass good! 

"It is not how busy you are, 
     but why you are busy — 
the bee is praised, 
     the mosquito is swatted." 
Author Unknown

P.S.  No more news about when my Mother will be coming home from hospital - she has agreed to have a carer, so guess it may take a few days to get that sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.