Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

When I got to work this morning I bumped in to my boss, so I asked her about indoor work today. She said she would think of something while I changed into my work clothes. 
Between the greenhouses is a space filled with large wooden plant boxes and those are filled with plants and veggies during the summer. I went outside to take a look and saw that there were weeds there, so I asked a colleague when those were last weeded. She didn't remember, so I said I'd do that. My boss, when she came back from her errand, thought it a good idea but asked if it was ok for my back. I had a chair with me and thought 'How hard can it be?' Sometimes things that looks rather easy turns in to a larger project than first intended... And this is one of those. Little weeds... moss... ants and lice... bees... (not a problem, but I don't want to disturb them...) pots were the plant roots has grown into the soil beneath, my back protesting... 
At first I only used my hands... then I used a small gardening spade...then my boss came with another gardening tool with a small rake on one side. I worked in the shade for a little while, then the sun came and I work yet again in blazing sunshine. I don't work many hours, but from 8 to 11.30, with half an hours break is enough when you're not used to being outside working. I do take small breaks to put more sun lotion on, I turn in to the colour of a boiled crayfish if I don't use sun lotion regularly.
But, even if it's hard work, it's fun to. I learn stuff, I experience stuff and I'm among cute bees. What's not to like? Fun things happen too. Today I lifted one of the pots (plants and herbs and perennials are sold in pots, standing in soil in the plant boxes...) and I saw two earthworms disappearing into a respective hole in the soil, as fast as you suck a spagetti in to your mouth. They just 'slurp' disappeared. It looked rather funny. :D 
I also managed to irritate a bee, when I misunderstood what it was after. It was on the ground doing something. I thought it wanted water so I poured a bit from my flask, but all I got what that a bit irritated sound they make, a bit high pitched, and it flew off and then returned to the same spot. :D  

This is one of the herbs sold. I've never heard of it before but I got intrigued when I read that it has a similar taste to broth. I'm going to try this, as I like the broth taste when I boil rice or pasta. It translates as 'hyssop' in English.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.