2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Flooded Thames at Sonning

Husband back at work today. I got to stay in bed for a bit longer. Popped out to do my local litter pick - lots of cans, bottles and cigarette packets again but no full bottles of booze this time.

As I was already muddy and, for once, it was not raining, I decided to try and set up my new compost bin (I must have been a very good girl this year as Father Christmas delivered it.....). After a bit of clearing and earth moving, I managed to create a level area and put the bin in place. I rounded up a few sticks and twigs to create some air pockets and then added all the vegetable peelings from Christmas lunch along with a few loo-roll tubes and a couple of shredded bills. Not sure if the mix is right yet but I do have some activator liquid to add if it seems a bit dry. Looking forward to seeing microbiology in action!

After a late lunch with the boys, I decided to cycle down to Sonning and take a look at the Thames. The bridge over the river has been closed again due to flooding on the surrounding roads. The village was very quiet - it is usually a traffic blackspot. The river was very high and very noisy. The surrounding fields are all flooded and the riverside paths have completely disappeared. The gardens at the hotel were completely underwater. There were several walkers around, all taking pictures of the floods.

I used my monopod to hold my camera high above my head to take this shot. I loved the outlines of the trees and the reflections in the flooded fields as the light faded.

Got very wet on the way home as it started raining again.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.