Capital adventures

By marchmont

Back in the Garioch

Despite at last finding the missing swimsuit, it has got wrapped up in a towel, I should have thought, and a bit of a faff about outfits and shoes (to be expected) I left only 3 minutes late at 10.03 and made it to God's own country 149 miles and 2 hours and 40 minutes later. Everyone I saw today asked 'is this your first time on the new road' and indeed it was. I can't remember when I last drove up here but well before the AWPR became a reality.

And then an afternoon and evening of friends and reminiscing: first the Squeak, the P&J and lunch in Fennel with S, my kids' ex second mum. Much later the threatening rain didn't arrive and on my way to Kellas I had to go in past the shoe sale, and I had to buy another pair of Ruby Shoos. There were at least 2 more pairs I could have bought. I wonder who the stockists in Edinburgh are?

Then a very long meeting/chat/catch up with L. She made me feel quite guilty at one point about being stuck but I've now got advice on a way forward for the main point, La Genevriere.

There are a couple of 'Oor Wullies' here too. The extra is the one representing Aberdeenshire. The other one is outside Watson's, the famous ironmongers. Bumped into another L outside M&S before heading up to K and D's where I'm staying and then back down to meet up with B and M. We went to the new Brewdog which has supplanted that Inverurie institution, The Dairy. I had my second, veggie, burger of the day, and yes, there were lots of dogs, it's a 'thing' with them. Back for coffee and finally a walk up the road, midsummer so at 11.45 still light.

This is a place I know so well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.